POSITIVE OUTLOOK FOR THE REST OF 2012

by Jon Novoselac

I’d fish every day if I could. Work, however, has a habit of getting in the way. Perhaps I could start a new career as a guide? Maybe not – apparently you need to be a good fisherman. Application denied.

Notwithstanding, I do have a few trips planned for the rest of the year. I thought I’d write a bit about what’s in store. Some text to remind me about forthcoming adventures.

To kick off the second half of the year, I’ll hopefully get a chance to spend a few hours fishing north of Melbourne. I’ve spoken with a gentleman who manages a property north of Australia’s second largest city, who says: “Fly fishermen here have been taking up to three fish per day.” Maybe I’ll have some luck with a Bushies Horror, or a Woolly Bugger. I won’t exclude the possibility of tying on a midge pattern, either.

After that, a trip to Lake Eucumbene near Cooma might just save my sanity in the dead of winter – fishing in declared trout streams in NSW is closed during the coolest months to allow fish the pleasure of spawning in peace. Lake and dam fishing, on the other hand, remain open year ‘round.

It’ll be damn cold near the Snowy Mountains in August, but I won’t care. As long as I get a chance to catch a slippery trout, I’ll be happy.

My big trip is scheduled for October. I’m heading to Yosemite in California, and will have the opportunity to do some late-season fishing in one of America’s most picturesque national parks. That’s the Lyell Fork, below.

Soon after Yosemite, during the same trip to the States, I might be lucky enough to spend a day in the Golden Trout Wilderness. This little spot, not so little at 1,228.3 square kilometres, was created by the US Congress in 1978 as part of that country’s National Wilderness Preservation System. The water below is Golden Trout Creek.

A bit about the golden trout. Sam Davidson, Trout Unlimited’s California Field Director, says in the Spring 2012 issue of “Trout”: “Their native range encompasses some of the most spectacular scenery in the world – the high alpine meadows of the southern Sierra. You’re fishing these pristine little streams and lakes, and the fish themselves are beautiful beyond description. They’re gold, crimson and purple – they really do look live living jewels.”

In October, I’ll be heading back to Jerrabattgulla Creek, east of Braidwood in NSW. The following picture was taken just past the entry to “Sunnyside”, a friend’s property.

Last time I visited the river, in May, the water level was relatively high. Thus, upstream of this photo was a series of long, sweeping, slow-moving pools. There are a few tough places to fish, and some nice sandy banks with stream-side foliage to hide behind and make a presentation.

I always thought it was brown trout water, but my friend who owns the property advised me that plenty of rainbows have been caught there in years gone by.

It’ll still be cold at that time of the year, but, if my last visit to Jerrabattgulla Creek in October is any indication, there’ll be plenty of aquatic insect activity.

Finally, in November, I’m planning a trip to a place in Barrington Tops I’ve never been before: Polblue Creek. Check out the photo below.

With any luck, Polblue will give me the chance to hook a rainbow and enjoy some Tasmanian-esque scenery, a relatively quick three-and-a-half hours from home.

Time permitting, of course.

Scratch that. I’ll make time.