NO LUCK ON THE DANA FORK

by Jon Novoselac

The day after the Tuolumne, Amanda and I got up before dawn, and drove into Yosemite. As the sun rose, the landscape around us simultaneously dropped our jaws.

It’s one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen. I could imagine the granite erupting through the earth’s crust the night before.

Half Dome, as seen from Tioga Pass. I hate to say it, but the photo does the vista absolutely no justice whatsoever.

We pulled up beside the Dana Fork, which feeds into the Tuolumne River in Tuolumne Meadows. The theme of the day matured to “The most beautiful place I’ve ever seen.” I trotted down to the water and fished upstream from this point for about 45 minutes.

Nothing to report, but I saw and spooked two fish. It didn’t take me long to forget what I learned the previous day. Perhaps I should have enlisted Amanda as a spotting buddy…

