BACK TO SCHOOL

by Jon Novoselac

A couple of weeks ago, I was lucky enough to enjoy a day’s worth of casting instruction from Peter Hayes.

Peter is an International Federation of Fly Fishers (IFFF) Certified Master Casting Instructor. As if that’s not enough, he has a bunch of other accolades to his name including awards in the World Fly Fishing Championships and World Casting Championships.

Among other things, Peter showed me that the key to a good roll cast is in the forward stroke – finish it with a “power snap”. He aptly calls this “delayed gratification”, and explains it like this:

“Only at the last moment should you snap your wrist forward and produce a power snap. The longer you can hold off the power snap, the better. I call this delayed gratification. I can type the effect using just two keys on my keyboard. A good cast will result from \\\\\\ / and a bad cast will result from \ /. Simple.”

Peter also has a knack for explaining loops in a memorable way. In the diagram below, which appears in the course notes, he describes the intriguingly named “Elle McPherson” loop.

Elle McPherson

I won’t give away any more of his secrets, but it goes without saying that Peter’s a great instructor, and I learned a lot during our session. As a beginner, if I’m not wetting a line, I reckon lessons like this are the best way to invest in my fishing future.

That said, it’s back to the park for me.

