ETCETERA

by Jon Novoselac

I’m going to ramble a little in this entry. About casting. Upcoming trips. Flies. Books.

~

Mel Krieger

Thanks to Peter Hayes and Mel Krieger (above), I’ve assembled some notes that will hopefully improve my casting, complete with a couple of practice drills. Simply put, I believe that becoming a better caster is a necessary precursor to becoming a better fisherman.

~

Josh Hutchins

I’ve just booked a trip to Thompsons Creek Dam. Josh Hutchins, above, will be my guide; he knows TCD better than the back of his hand. Another trip will take place in early October – this one to Victoria. Still sorting out the details. Then, the season starts here in my home state. Not that I’m counting, but it’s 24 days until the opener.

~

It was bound to happen. I guess most people who become obsessed with fly fishing eventually succumb to the delights of fly tying. I’m slowly amassing more feathers and fur than a millinery in the lead up to the Melbourne Cup. Sites like PlanetTrout and FrankenFly inspire me on a regular basis.

The picture below comes from PlanetTrout; it’s a CDL KF Nymph (Medium Brown Baetis) – Hughes/Variant, in size 20. I’m not sure if my eyesight and fumbling fingers are good enough to tie a size 20 fly, but I’ll be giving it a red hot go when the time is right.

CDL KF Nymph (Medium Brown Baetis) – Hughes Variant

I’ve completed quite a few basic Woolly Buggers and Pheasant Tail Nymphs and, sacre bleu, they’re starting to look as they should. I guess the old adage is right. Practice makes perfect.

~

Speaking of flies, I received a wonderful surprise in the mail the other day. Alan Petrucci’s book, “Thin Blue Lines”, arrived. That wasn’t a surprise – I was expecting it. I was, however, delighted to find enclosed in the package a beautifully tied Ausable Bomber, all the way from Alan in Connecticut.

The book is just as fantastic as I expected it to be. It’s chock-a-block full of beautiful photos, and will be taken from the shelf as often as I need encouragement.

~

Enough rambling for now, I guess. On to more productive pursuits, like scanning the interweb for cool fly fishing stuff.

