AT THE MOVIES

by Jon Novoselac

Thanks to Singleton Fly Fishing Club, a few weeks ago I was fortunate enough to spend a couple of delightful hours indulging in the RISE Fly Fishing Film Festival.

RISE

From “RISE”, the annual publication produced specifically for the event:

“It’s hard for me to believe that we are in our eighth consecutive year. What started life as an obscure concept has developed into one of the premier events on the fly fishing calendar.”

Nick Reygaert, founder of the Festival, hit the nail on the head with that second sentence. My friends at the Club have been fans of Nick’s annual event for quite a few years now. For good reason, too – kicking back, chatting with fellow Club members and watching fly fishing movies sure is a good way to spend a Thursday night.

This year’s Festival included three short films and one feature movie. Of the three short shows (“Only The River Knows”, “Jungle Fish” and “Blackwater Devil’s Gold”) “Only The River Knows” got the nod from me for my personal “Best Of”. I even bought my own copy.

The producers, Peter A Christensen, Rolf Nylinder and Smatis Eskjaer, have a whimsical sense of humour; this isn’t a typical fly fishing film. Parts of the movie, shot in New Zealand, are downright magical. Other parts had me laughing out loud. They’re very clever filmmakers.

As an added bonus, there’s a worthy lesson in this film: life is about more than fly fishing. Hard to believe, I know, but true all the same.

There’s much more to say about the other films in the Festival… from pre-historic sized trout lurking in Lago Strobel, to the way fishing and tourism are helping a rural community in Guyana, and some of the biggest brown trout I’ve ever seen near Bay of Plenty in New Zealand.

I wonder what next year’s Festival will have in store for us?

