CARP-A-THON

by Jon Novoselac

I prepared what I thought were perfect plans for a few grandiose fishing adventures over the past month. But it wasn’t meant to be.

On the day I was scheduled to fish with Josh Hutchins at Thompson’s Creek Dam, I fell victim to a nasty virus that put me in bed for a couple of days. Following that, a trip to the East Branch of the Kiewa River in Victoria was all but rained out. I did manage to step into the river and another nearby stream, but the conditions weren’t great, and it simply wasn’t my day.

I did, however, have a bit of luck at the 10th Singleton Fly Fishing Club Carp Classic, held last weekend. Side-by-side with my fellow Club members, I did my best to remove a few fish from Lake Liddell in a couple of hours.

Lake Liddell

Pretty spot? Certainly.

Carp

Some people won’t fish for carp. It’s “beneath” them. I’m not of that ilk.

Carp are all the rage in America at the moment: Kirk Deeter has even written a book dedicated to fly fishing for the world famous rogue fish species.

All-in-all, a pretty nice Saturday morning.

