THE SILVER LINING

by Jon Novoselac

The past few months have been arduous. Tumultuous. Down-right tough.

We recently sold our house. On its own, that’d be stressful enough, but a poor decision by me almost ten years ago resulted in an unusual situation that hung over our heads like a dark, ominous storm cloud. I suffered more than a few sleepless nights, wondering what would happen. But thanks to Amanda, we got through it ok.

That out of the way, we were confronted by more challenges. I won’t record the minutiae detail here, as these particular hurdles were relatively trivial. Trivial, but annoying nonetheless.

And the money ball. The big one. A couple of weeks ago my position at work was made redundant.

I like to write quite a bit; I keep a personal journal in which I record lots of details about all parts of my life. But this is the first time I’ve written of my redundancy. I guess because I’ve been so busy planning my next career move, and meeting as many prospective employers as possible.

I was told by a “career transition consultant” that I’d go through ups and downs. Highs and lows. A couple of days after the event, I thought “Not me. I got this.”

But “they” were right. As time goes on, and you find yourself at home in the middle of the day, when you “should” be at work, your mind starts playing tricks on you. Could I have done something to stop it from happening? Am I not valuable? Am I not useful? You might even catch yourself thinking “Will I ever get a job again?”

So fishing took a back seat. Then, this happened.

Ben Lomond brown trout

Just last week, this beautiful brown trout came to my net on a private property near Ben Lomond in the New England region of NSW.

And even though I lost my job, Amanda has hers. We did sell our property – so there’s no mortgage to pay. There are a few job prospects. Lots of consulting opportunities that are very close to bearing fruit. And being my own boss does have its perks.

I can go fishing whenever I want to.

Postscript

I must remember that I am more fortunate and privileged than most people living on this planet. I’m not rich, not by a long shot, but I’m certainly not poor. I think of the people in the Philippines, who recently battled what must have been one of the most severe weather events they’ve ever endured. And I sit here, in my selfish state of melancholy. Many Filipinos lost their lives – they had no choice. I pray for them.

